Off to Heathrow for my flight to Ethiopia (stopping en route for ten pin bowling with the kids!)

photo 1photo 2 (1)

Wow! It has been quite a day, but I am now packed and ready to go to Heathrow. I hope that I haven’t forgotten anything – passport, Ethiopia guide-book, a portable gym, some treats, clothes, my technical equipment and a few other bits and bobs. Fortunately, my friend – award-winning film-maker Angela Robson – sent me her “essentials-list”, so my job was made easy.

We are having a game of ten pin bowling in Maidenhead and going out for a family-meal en route to the airport. My youngest son Jack had a vomiting bug last night, and I think that I had 2 hours’ sleep at most. Fortunately, he is feeling much better today, and I am too excited to feel tired.

I am flying to Addis Ababa with Ethiopian Airlines tonight and I will have a day there before flying to Dire Dawa and meeting the Gende Tesfa community, where nearly every family has been affected by leprosy. My chosen London Marathon charity @PFCEthiopia recently launched the #AllAboutheChild campaign to help families there.

Right, the kids are eager to go, so I must sign off….

Leave a Reply

